A translation of a poem by Taisen Deshimaru

If someone asks

what true Zen is

you don’t have to open

your mouth to explain it.

Please, lay out every angle

of your Zazen posture.

Then a spring breeze will blow and bring

the plum  tree to blossom wondrously.

This poem is to be found in Taisen Deshimaru’s book on Zen and everyday life: Zen et Vie Quotidienne: La Pratique de la Concentration (editions ablin michel 1985). The translation is mine.

About lousybuddhist

I am 48 (almost 49) year old Zen Buddhist and writer. I have lived all over the US, but currently I live in France where I have been living since 1991. I have gotten involved with blogging to to publish my writing and to "discuss" my "experiences" of Zen. I like to read, and hope to share my reading with others here...
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Deshimaru, Poetry, Soto, Zazen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment